Todays Youth

I’ve been reading a lot of opinions from older generations regarding today’s youth. I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries on “bullying” in American school systems. I suppose now is a good time to give my two cents.

Todays youth. The Xbox generation. The iPhone generation. The Entitlement generation. The whatever-you-want-to-call-it generation. Kids today have cellphones, yes. I didn’t have a cellphone when I was in my youth, and I survived just fine. So did millions of other kids. Does that mean kids today don’t need cellphones? Does that mean kids today don’t need an iPhone or an HTC Galaxy, Blackberry, Go-phone or whatever else is out on the market? Technology evolves. So do people. If I had children, I’d equipped them with the latest cellphone technology, for sure. And I’d also monitor who they call, who they text and who calls and texts them.

The Entitlement generation. I don’t know exactly where this idea of kids in todays generation think they’re entitled to everything. I don’t think that’s just kids thinking that. I think this entire country has the mindset of thinking they’re entitled to everything. And that gets passed down to kids. I’ve heard grown adults say, “I have the right to buy any car I want.” or, “I can do whatever I want, say what I want, and think what I want.” In recent years, this whole entitlement phase has grown to epic proportions. Kids generally follow in their parent’s footsteps. And when you have grown adults claiming they have the right to this and they have the right to that, it’s only natural for kids to start thinking that, too

I was bullied in high school. I’m sure just about everyone has had a bully or two in their lives. Some people even have bullies in college. Or in the work place. It’s everywhere. The fact that kids are committing suicide over bullying has really brought this stuff into light. When I was in high school, I don’t remember any news stories of kids taking their own lives due to being bullied too much. We didn’t have cops roaming our hallways, either. And no one was arrested or rung up on assault charges for fighting. That’s just how things were back then. Now kids are hauled away in police cruisers and cited for criminal charges for the things they do in school. Its ludacris! To charge a teenager with criminal charges?!

So why are kids today so sensitive? Why are they babied and coddled so much? Why do adults give the losing team of kids trophies and praise them anyway? Why do adults…?

People blame the kids? I blame the adults for being so overprotective of these kids. For not letting kids battle it out in schools. For allowing police to get involved. For running to their kids when they fall down. For the constant praise. For blaming everything on ADD. For placing every kid in America on some kind of medication at such an early age. For allowing such a capitalistic environment where both parents must work two jobs to support a small family. I blame todays adults.

 

Leave a Reply

