Give me Liberty or give me Death

Give me liberty or give me death! Give me liberty or give me death! Give me liberty or give me death!

The biggest issues in our beloved United States of America right now are gun control and abortion. The right wingers are adamant about not allowing for more strict gun laws, background checks, mental health evaluations. With all of those aforementioned new laws in place, would it really help reduce gun violence and keep wackos from shooting up schools and apartment complexes? Some would agree and some would disagree. But most say it’s an invasion of our 2nd Amendment rights. The problem with the Constitution is it’s not 1787 anymore. It’s 2013. And as we evolve as humans, as a nation and as a world, things need like the Constitution need to evolve as well. We don’t still use rotary phones, do we?

I have a few guns to my name. Two handguns and a shotgun. I love guns. I love to shoot guns and I love to carry one around town (I have my CWP, by the way). And as you look at the history of our country, we have implemented laws to keep Americans safe, right? Like, certain places guns can no longer be carried into. Gun free zones. You know, like in Wyatt Earp days where you had to hand over your gun to the bartender. In cities, you can not discharge your firearms. And when you get pulled over by the police, in some states you must declare your weapons as soon as the police officer approaches your vehicle. Isn’t all of that against our Constitutional rights? Hey, I have a right to my firearms. Who’s business is it where I have one in my car!

Abortions are another huge issue in this country. People claim it’s murder. Some claim it’s not murder because a fetus isn’t a “human being” yet. Everyone has a different opinion of when life actually begins. Some claim when there’s a heart beat. Others would say as soon as the egg is fertilized. You know what I say? I don’t give two shits what you think. If someone wants to abort their child, baby, fetus, egg, it’s not your decision. It’s theirs. It’s not like we have a herd of American women running around having a blast, drinking margaritas, aborting their babies. It’s probably not an easy decision and it’s probably pretty traumatizing. But people have their reasons. And you probably have nothing to do with any of it.

When I think about the United States, I envision a bunch of whiny, spoiled brats, bickering at each other to do this and not do that. What’s best for you may not be best for someone else. And vise versa. We have freedoms in this country. We aren’t ran by dictatorship or tyranny. We aren’t North Korea. You have the freedom to shop at Wal-Mart or not. You have the freedom to buy a firearm or not. And you have the freedom to abort your child for whatever reason. Whether it be from being raped or falling on hard times or getting drunk at a frat party. Do I advocate abortions? Not so much. But I’d rather a child come into this world with a fighting chance instead of being raised by some irresponsible dead beat mother who got fucked at a drunken frat party, wound up pregnant, dropped out of school, can’t hold a job, and wound up on the welfare system for the rest of her life and her childs. And then her child repeats the process.

The thing with both of these issues is no one seems to be able to provide a solution. People are going to have sex in this country. And people are going to buy guns and shoot up schools in this country. It’s going to happen. We’ve identified that, at least, right? So let’s provide solutions to the problems. With irresponsible sexual relations comes unwanted children. Who ends up paying for all these unwanted children? Mostly tax payers. I’d like to pay for my own kids, thanks. I’m for contraceptive (obviously I’m not a Christian or Catholic, go figure). I’m for safe sex. I’d like to think I’m responsible. The unfortunate aspect of this is; you might be responsible but your neighbor may not be. So we prepare for the irresponsible ones.

Gun control works the same way. Although you may not like extended background checks, waiting periods, mental health evaluations, you’ll probably be all for that shit when your fucking kid gets waxed by some asshole on a murderous rampage. Or are you going to play hero, strap on your piece, tramp on down to the local school and put two in his chest and save the day? Probably not fucking likely. Washington State has a three-day wait on firearms purchases if you don’t have a CWP. Three days. You think I’m happy about that shit? Fuck no. But if it keeps some low-life scum bag from buying a gun from a local dealer and killing people because someone cut him off on I-5 that day, then hell yes I’m for it!

The whole point of reducing magazine rounds in magazines from ten to seven or whatever the fuck they wanted to do was to force the gunmen to reload more often hence giving police or whoever more time to take his ass down. Too many people have said, “well, what’s that going to do? What difference does three rounds make?” Maybe a life or two? I don’t know. I’m just spit-balling here.

The whole point of America is freedom. Personal freedoms. I like my freedom. I like to wake up everyday and stretch out, sip my coffee, read my newspaper and not have to do shit if I don’t want to. I don’t want to live in a country where I can’t do something because some other asshole American doesn’t believe in or because he/she doesn’t think it’s right. If I want an abortion, I’ll get an abortion. And I don’t need YOU up in my face about it because YOUR opinion doesn’t mean shit to me anyway.

 

One thought on “Give me Liberty or give me Death

Leave a Reply

