‘Tis the Season

It’s Christmas. Again. Just another day to me. To you? It might be a joyous occasion meeting up with family and friends enjoying cold cuts and drinking booze. I don’t think I’ve had a meaningful Christmas since I was in my early teen years. Most of my Christmas adventures I spend alone. When I was in the Army, I spent quite a bit of the holidays overseas, in training areas, and with my military family. I don’t look at the holidays as a chance to get the latest and greatest gadget or gizmo… in fact, when I was a kid, I’d always try to come up with gift ideas that would be beneficial. But because I hated (and still do) buying gifts for others, I felt bad accepting things from other people.

To me, Christmas is all about spending time with loved ones. I hate how driven America is on buying frivolous bullshit for one an other. I spend a lot of time at work (I work retail security) and I watch people all day long. It’s frustrating to watch people treat others like shit during the time. Why is it frustrating? Because I lost some pretty awesome friends in combat so people get to spend their holidays driving like assholes, shitting on retail associates and treating complete strangers like trash just so they can buy materialistic garbage that probably won’t matter in a year.

So I dedicate this blog entry to my buddies, who I miss so fucking much right now, a very merry Christmas.

And the next time you’re standing in line at Starbucks or Wal-mart or wherever it is you fucking shop, and you’re all cranky and pissy because the person in front of you is taking their sweet time, just remember the soldiers that died in combat don’t get to enjoy the holidays with their families and friends anymore.

3

 

3 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. Au contraire, sir. All of my buddies here fully realize WHY we are able to enjoy our holidays… and we always remember your fellow American souls resting in cemeteries today. It isn’t enough to write about it in this fashion but that’s the only way we can convey our appreciation… Thank you, Vet.

Leave a Reply

