Adventures

I’ve met a lot of interesting people during my 32 years on this planet. And since I’ve been out of the U.S Army, I’ve been involved in charity work. I created a local charity called Snagging Baseballs for Puppies. So far, in the two years it’s been active, I’ve been able to raise just shy of $500 dollars for the local animal shelter in my area. Yeah, that’s not a lot. But it’s a lot more than you really think. $500 dollars can go along way for one or two animals regarding food.

I had this whole plan to fly to Egypt and see the Nile river. My intentions were to watch the great migration of the Wildebeest crossing the Nile that try to evade the resident crocodiles. I think it would be such an amazing thing to witness in person. The migration of the Wildebeest are so scattered, so I’d probably have to spend at least two weeks there to increase my chances of seeing such a thing.

Anyway. I’ve dealt with depression and loneliness since I’ve been out of the service. I spend entirely too much time by myself. At work, and at home. It’s partly my fault because I have quite a few people who have reached out to me and I’ve just ignored them because of some…reason. I can’t really put my finger on it. I guess it’s one of those things that I’ll have to discuss with my psychiatrist. The good news is this; I’ve met someone who is nearly on the same playing field as I am. I’m not going to go into a lot of details but I will mention that I can foresee a very respectable friendship blossoming.

A couple of years ago I watched this documentary about the slaughter of dolphins in Taiji, Japan. I recently took a trip to Tokyo to watch baseball in the Tokyo Dome, and it didn’t really occur to me how close I was to that area. I’d like to go back and help out. Since I’m big on charities and trying to save the world, I think this would be an awesome experience to help do some good. I’m contemplating a trip to join the Sea Shepherd crew to help fight the Japanese whalers that slaughter 20,000 different species of whales and dolphins a year:

Once the holidays wrap up and pass, I’ll be checking my schedule and joining one of the massive boats that sets sail on the open waters to stop the slaughter of those beautiful animals. I don’t really know how long I’ll be gone on that mission, I’m hoping at least two months. Once I return from that, I’ll be looking forward to a return trip to Japan. I’ll be headed to Taiji to the Cove to help battle on the front lines to save dolphins from inhumane slaughter.

In the meantime, I’ll still be working my way around the United States to see a live baseball game in every pro baseball stadium. You can read all about those adventures in my baseball blog. The two Sea Shepherd missions and the trip to Egypt (when they happen) will be featured in this blog site.

Every year I’d like to go somewhere in the world I’ve never been. I’d like to eventually visit Russia, South Korea, Denmark, and New Zealand. Among other places, of course. When I was in Germany I wish I would’ve traveled more. I saw a lot of the country but it was mostly in a drunken haze. I’d actually like to go back and see Germany without all the alcohol induced fun and just see the country. I did make it to Austria for a brief moment. But again, drunk most of the time.

The next ten years of my life should be good. Traveling and seeing different parts of the world has become so important for me. I want to see the world. It gives me a sense of accomplishment to leave the United States and travel abroad. It gives me a sense of pride to meet new and interesting people, learn their culture, and survive in someone elses backyard. Let me tell you a quick story before I end this blog entry. When I planned my trip to Japan, I really had no game plan when I landed in country. I figured I’d be able to find someone who spoke english to help me navigate. Boy, was I wrong.

Luckily for me, when I flew out of Los Angeles, I sat next to a Japanese/American guy that lived in the same town as where I was staying. He let me use his wifi to look at a map, he told me some key phrases, and informed me to stay out of taxi cabs. He also told me if anything happens, if I get lost, just find the nearest police sub-station. They’re virtually on every street corner. It was fun being lost. When I got off the airplane, my next stop was boarding a train. I took the train to the city of Ueno. When I left the train station, I walked out onto the streets and instantly felt helpless. I was like, 3,000 miles away from home, my cellphone didn’t work, no one spoke english, and I didn’t know which way north was. I was literally lost in Japan,

How exciting, though! I ran into one english speaking native and an American. Both were no help at all. I asked nearly 25 taxi cabs where my hotel was (while pointing on a map) and not one of them could understand me but were so willing to help. I was truly grateful. Japanese people are very honest and strive to be of service if they can. It was very enlightening. Eventually, I found a lone taxi cab and gave it one last-ditch effort to ask where my hotel was. He spoke enough english to get me there and I gave him many thanks (in the Japanese culture, tips are considered unacceptable) for helping me. It was an experience of a life time and I’ll never forget it.

I hope to have many more experiences like that.

Leave a Reply

